Posted by: A | May 19, 2011

My 30+ MCAT Recomendations

I promised that I was going to do this after I got my score back, so here it goes. I did not take a class, mostly because I didn’t have the money, but also because I don’t study well in groups.  I think most motivated pre-meds can get a 30+ on the MCAT through self-study, although that is definitely a sweeping generalization.

I used both ExamKrackers (EK) and Kaplan books for my study purposes.  Personally, I liked EK the most.  I got the study books, and they were easy to follow.  However, I found that the physics review book was lacking, so I purchased a Kaplan review book as well (came with 4 practice tests too!).  Physics was my weakest section going in, so I also got EK’s 1,001 Physics Questions, which I completed in its entirety.  My favorite book was EK’s 101 Verbal Reasoning Passages, it was great practice, and the passages were actually interesting for the most part.  VR is a tough section to raise scores in, but I think it really helped me get a 13.  I list all my study purchases at the end of this post, so check that out.

I took about 4 months to study, averaging 2-3 hours per day, until the last month where it was probably closer to 4-5 hours a day.  My study plan was simple.  For the first two months I did all content review. I read everything once through without taking notes or highlighting.  The next time through I took notes, in-depth notes, especially on biology (ended up typing over 34 pages of bullet-point facts). I wanted all my notes in a binder, so that I didn’t have to lug around tons of books everywhere.  I also made my own “equation-memorization” sheet, with all of the relevant and important equations I would need to have down pat.  By the end of the content review, I had a binder worth of my own notes, which I would try and read through once every other day.  This binder was constantly being updated with more random facts, or missed practice test questions, etc.

After content review, it was time to take practice tests, and do problems in physics as well as the VR passages.  It is important to be completely comfortable with the way the MCAT asks questions. I took practice tests from Kaplan, ExamKrackers, Gold Standard, and of course the AAMC.  Do a ton of practice passages, they will point out your weak areas. The most important purchases are the AAMC practice tests.  My average on them was almost exactly my real score.  They will indicate how ready you are.  In my opinion, AAMC > Gold Standard > Kaplan > EK.  The Gold Standard tests are hard (and sometimes wrong) but they really show you what you don’t know.  I didn’t care for Kaplan or EK practice tests at all.  Take the last few AAMC’s under real test conditions.  Do them somewhere without distractions, and don’t take more than the allotted time for each section and breaks.  Also, take the time after the test to review every single question and answer.

My overall recommendations are simple.  Don’t take practice tests (especially the AAMC’s) until you are done with content review.  Work your butt off, but don’t get burned out, you shouldn’t take this test more than once.  Use any and all resources.  I thought the Student-Doctor network was helpful, as well as Wikipedia for clearing up any misconceptions.  It is more important to understand concepts and how they interrelate rather than memorizing everything.  The MCAT is a beast, but it feels so good when it is over; don’t leave anything in the tank.  You should have no regrets about your studying after taking it.  I would be happy to answer any questions in the comment section, I hope I didn’t leave anything out.

My MCAT Study Budget:

total price for my preparation and the test: $791.39



Responses

  1. Can you tell me what your daily schedule was?

    Also, how did you review your past mistakes on AAMC exams and EK practice problems?

    • Sure, I took Tuesdays completely off because I had lab and other commitments and it was always a day of rest. During my content review, I would literally go to library (sometimes without my computer to eliminate temptation) and sit and read or take notes for 2-3 hours. On weekends, I would do the same but stay for 5-6 hours. I think a day off every once in awhile is a good idea, and on practice test days it is pointless to try and do more studying after you are finished, at least for me, because I was so burnt out.

      The AAMC has all the answers to the practice test questions under the review answers option. I had a section in my study binder where I would write out things I got wrong or guessed on. For me, writing things out is a good way to memorize. I read my “wrong answer” section minutes before taking the test, and it actually helped me on a BS question.

  2. […] guy and I studied in very similar ways, and we got the same score: TheHeroComplex He explains the process a lot more clearly than I […]

  3. I was wondering if you could tell me how you studied for the verbal reasoning section?

    • Sure Richa,

      So basically my “bible” was ExamKracker’s 101 VR Passages. I took each of the 14 practice tests under real conditions (so only give yourself an hour). After time is up, check every single one of your answers, even if you got it right. This allows you to get a feel for MCAT VR style questions and see which kinds of questions are your downfall. Its hardest to “study” for this section but its just a lot of practice. In my experience, Kaplan’s VR was no good. I would stick with the EK, and then use every single one of the practice AAMC’s.

      does that help?

      -A

  4. Yupp that does!! But i actually got the Princeton Passages for Verbal – do you know if they are any good or if EK are better? I find my score for verbal really varies a lot and time issues makes me miss a lot of the easy questions. Any suggestions?

    • I am not familiar with the Princeton Review, I would maybe look to the Student-Doctor Network for an answer to that. I know that the EK book is not terribly expensive. It is like $20 on amazon.com, and it is well worth it. I really would suggest you buy EK verbal (and I am not affiliated with them in anyway).

      As far as variance goes, I was ranging anywhere from 11-15, so that is to be expected. Sometimes during practice exams it is hard to concentrate on a passage or two about something you don’t care about in the least. Try to read like you are interested, even if you have to fake it at first.

      The timing issue is just about practice. Every time you do a practice exam, take note about how much time you have at the half way point. This will help you get a feel for the pace, and also will help you on the real deal. I knew that if I was in good shape, I was finished with question 20 with about 35 minutes left on the clock.

      Finally, I don’t know if you are skipping around or not, but I do not suggest it. Read each passage in order and try your best to answer everything. If you are unsure, still put an answer down but “mark” it. Hopefully you can come back to it at the end. If not, at least you have an answer down already!

      Feel free to ask more questions about this or anything, I am trying to help but if I am not being clear enough just let me know.

  5. Thanks a ton for the tips!! That was a huge help!
    I will follow these and let you know how it goes! Verbal is holding my score back a lot and got less than 3 weeks till my MCAT!!
    Btw congrats on your awesome score 🙂

    • Good luck, I am sure you will do great. If your AAMC practice-test scores are not in the range you are hoping for, I recommend just delaying a few weeks. They really are the best indication of where your actual score will end up. Let me know how you do, and come back around here.

  6. so i gave a practice test today and got a 28 (horrible i knooww!) 11 in physical science, 10 in bio and 7 in verbal!
    after reviewing i found my mistakes for physical and bio to be just silly mistakes…but I dont know what to do for verbal..I found my starting passages went okay and well i ran out of time for the last..so had to completely guess and that made me rush through my 2nd last as well…
    i did order the exam cracker book you told me about! cant wait till it gets here and i can start improving!
    but i even tend to get some of the simple retrieval questions wrong! I know if i improve my accuracy with those questions my score will improve a lot…
    any ideas about that?

    • A few things, do you read the questions before reading the section? Are you able to have an idea about where in the passage events happen? How do you highlight? Answer these and I will try and help tomorrow, I am swamped with some work stuff tonight.

  7. Umm…i do browse the questions really quickly…mainly to check if they are asking for any specific phrases or words that I need to highlight so i dont waste time looking for them after. I dont read in much detail so i can get an idea of where the passage is going from the question though. For highlighting, i didnt used to highlight a lot but mainly words/phrases that seemed important…but I found that i couldnt find the events that easily – so i started highlighting a lot more and that helped me a bit.
    I sort of do get an idea of how its flowing – i always narrow it down to 2…and then mostly end up picking the wrong one!!
    Thanks a ton for your help though!!!

    • Sorry for the delay, but I think looking at questions before hand is mostly a waste of time. The important thing is to develop a “map” of the passage in your head. That way if you have to look back, you know about where to look. I would say that I looked back on just about half of the questions, but I always remembered where that relevant part was. If you are narrowing it down to two, you are doing great! The MCAT is sometimes luck, and probably 5-6 questions on VR will be educated guesses. Good luck, and let me know how it is going.

  8. Hi, just found your blog – it’s great! Would you mind sharing how you did on practice questions when you started studying? I just started my MCAT prep using EK books and I’m disappointed at how many practice questions I get wrong. I understand the concepts and think I know how to apply them, but when I do the questions I frequently get confused by the passage or find I missed one word that apparently was key. Is this to be expected? I’m getting kind of worried because of such high incidence of error. Is my score going to improve/am I going to get better at it with practice? How was it for you? Thanks in advance.

    • Hey Ivy,

      Thanks for stopping by, sorry for the delay in reply, I have been super busy with interviews and school. The EK books are hard, and I missed quite a few practice questions as well. Don’t let that get you down. I have always thought that you learn better from mistakes anyways.

      The MCAT is formatted purposely. That is, it is not enough to just understand the concept but you must actively apply your knowledge. The more you practice and drill yourself, the more you will start getting used to doing these things. Your mind will start seeing the problems differently.

      My advice is to keep keeping on. Do more and more practice problems, and write out any commonly missed trouble areas. I had an entire notebook full of things that I missed on a regular basis, and it was the last thing I read over before the actual MCAT. Good luck, and feel free to ask anything else!

      -A

  9. Did you approach the physics section in the same way (with the reading through once then going back and taking notes)?

    • You mean while learning the physics material from EK? Yes, I read through it once, then went back and read it slowly and took notes.


Leave a comment

Categories